A Few of My Favorite Things

The Daily Post’s weekly blog challenge is “A Few of My Favorite Things.”  I (mentally) immediately broke into song:

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

As I contemplate my favorite things (I was contemplating some of my favorite things yesterday on my drive home from work), I feel like I need to categorize…

Smells:
Just-out-of-the-oven chocolate chip cookies
Freshly mowed grass
A newborn baby
Men’s body wash
Roses
Rain
Campfire
Coffee being brewed
Sun-dried clothing

Tastes
(Well this list could go on forever)
Cucumbers
Watermelon
Sweet strawberries
Buttery corn
Just-out-of-the-oven chocolate chip cookies
Cigarettes and alcohol — that is, when my boyfriend and I get caught up in the moment and he tastes like cigarettes and alcohol… I feel like there is some kind of erotic element in that moment, with that taste.

Touch:
Newborn baby
Doggy kisses
Satin sheets (or at least a high thread count)
Swimming Nude
Skin on skin
The brush of lips on my lips
Having my hair done by someone else

Sight:
A good friend after a long period of absence.  This is especially true of my dearest friend.  We only get to see each other about once a year.  At the moment I haven’t seen her in over a year and a half.  When I first spot her upon arrival, that is one of my favorite things.
Rainbows
Butterflies
Newborn babies (I obviously have a love of newborn babies)

Sound:
Thunderstorms
A baby’s laughter
Laughter in general
WVU Mountaineer Fans cheering — This might seem silly, but there is something contagious and yet reverent about cheering for your favorite team.
Pop can opening
Rainfall
Trains

All five of these lists could be longer. Much longer.  My previous post stated that I treasure many things.  And most of the things I love or things that I can call a “favorite” I also treasure.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

