Baby Names.

I love baby names.  I have a baby naming book.  I am a member on http://www.babynames.com.  I am subscribed to a baby name guru’s vlog on YouTube.

Some great resources for baby names are:
www.babynames.com
www.babycenter.com
www.ssa.gov/oact/babynames/

The top 10 baby names of 2011 were:

Boys:

  1. Jacob
  2. Mason
  3. William
  4. Jayden
  5. Noah
  6. Michael
  7. Ethan
  8. Alexander
  9. Aiden
  10. Daniel

Girls:

  1. Sophia
  2. Isabella
  3. Emma
  4. Olivia
  5. Ava
  6. Emily
  7. Abigail
  8. Madison
  9. Mia
  10. Chloe

Of the top baby names of 2011, my favorite boy name is Alexander and my favorite girl name is… Emily.  I have a cousin named Emily.  I’m not a huge fan of super popular names.

My top baby names are:

Boys:

  1. Sean
  2. Alexander
  3. Elliot
  4. Kai
  5. Zane

I have a really, really hard time picking out boys names that I continue to love even after I’ve mulled them around in my head for some time.  Sean has been my top boy name for years.  Sean Alexander [Last Name].  Of course I also like Kai Alexander and Alexander Kai.  I also like Sean Ardor, Sean Matthew, Sean Marshall, and Sean Xavier.  Kyle and Duncan (as in donuts?) are on my list at the moment, but I’m pretty flaky about those.  Zane is a character in Eureka and I would feel silly naming a baby after a TV show character.  Is that a silly thing to do? Does naming my baby Zane mean that I’ve actually named him “after” a TV character or does that just mean I love the name and I happened to hear it on TV?  Zane Alexander.  Yup, I love it.  Alexander is definitely my go-to middle name.  I also have Thaddeus and Bartholomew on the list – two names that I could (would) never use.  Thaddeus and Bartholomew are what people in the baby naming world call “guilty pleasure” names.  I really like the name Elliot; however, my boyfriend’s best friend used the name for his new son.  And let me tell you, Elliot is so adorably sweet!

Girls:

  1. Rose
  2. Claire
  3. Cornelia
  4. Cora
  5. Magnolia (Maggie)

I could keep going with the girls names.

My problem with Rose is that I can’t find a middle name that I love that flows well with Rose… Except for maybe Rose Cornelia.  I also like Cornelia Claire (I wouldn’t want my child nicknamed “CC”), Natalie Rose, Josephine Rose, Josephine Claire… Rose and Claire both make great middle names, but I love them as first names.  I like Cora as a nickname for Cornelia.  I like Cora as a name all on its own as well.  Magnolia is another guilty pleasure name.

I think having children whose first names all have just one syllable would be fun.  (This sounds as though I am planning on having a bus load of children.  That is not so.  I’d like to have two children – that is a topic for a different blog.)

Ahhh, baby names.  I could look at baby name books and websites all day long.

Good day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

