Night and Day.

This is basically a continuation of yesterday’s blog.

So, yesterday my co-worker and I had to drive a bit of a distance to pick up three children in order to place them in a foster home.  We arrived at the designated meeting point about 3 minutes early.  The DHHR worker was at least 15 minutes late.  Go figure.

I can’t tell you how much my heart breaks for these three little ones.  Sometimes placements aren’t that difficult.  And I guess this placement wasn’t as difficult as just seeing the state of these kiddos.  First thing I noticed was the black eye of the 3 year old.  Then I noticed the big bumps and huge gash on the 2 year old’s head.  The little girl looked okay, but who knows.  The next thing I noticed was their stench.  These children smelled so terrible.  They were filty from head to toe and everywhere in between.  Snot and dried tears were caked on their little cheeks.  Their clothes were covered in dirt and who knows what else.  The doctor had said that they had bedbug bites, but to me the marks looked like a rash.

So, my coworker and I arrived back to the office around 730pm.  The foster mom and her mother were there already.  Foster dad was too good to come get the kids, I guess.

Side note: foster parents can be just as infuriating as birth parents.

We get the kids unloaded from our vehicle and the foster mom is like “we don’t have the car seats in yet.”  I go inside with the children to change their diapers.  All three were soaked and one had a poopy diaper.  Their clothes just — **shudder**.  So gross.  The foster mom FINALLY decided to start getting the car seats situated.  My coworker and I had to help her.  And of course rain started pouring down.  By the time everything was all said and done, my coworker and I were soaked, felt dirty, were dirty, and were exhausted.

I got home around 9pm.  I took a hot shower.  I’d like to say I went straight to bed (because that is what I really wanted to do).  After I got PJs on, my roommate and her boyfriend arrived home.  My roommate told me that a man came to the house asking about one of our vehicles.  He said that he’s been “checking it out” and that he’s been “looking around” the place.  CREEPED OUT!  So, I immediately call my boyfriend and tell him.  The guy left his number, but I couldn’t make out the last 4 digits.  I’m tempted to tell the police about the situation…  I locked the doors last night…

Today I got to work, brought my other coworker up to speed on the new children’s case because she will be their social worker.  I then went to do a home visit.  I swung by my house (which really is not at all “on the way”) before heading back to the office.  I got lost because I had never been that way home before and then I got stuck waiting for a train and I had to pee so bad because I had drank an extra large coffee from Sheetz and and and… Oh my goodness.  I just wanted to stay home and sleep!

Instead, I came back to the office and then went Wal-Mart shopping for the office.  Then me and three of my coworkers sat around talking about various families and their ability or lack thereof to be good parents…  I’ve been in the office for a total of 3 hours today at most.  I did manage to finish writing a home study (yay).

I’m going home now.  I may make myself an adult beverage.  Or I may just call it a night and go to bed…

Good day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

