Why Am I Here?

I’m at my ex’s.  I’m mooching his internet/tv.  I was looking around on Match.  A 38-yr-old popped up.  I was iffy as to whether or not I’d “like” him.

Ex: What do you have against 38-yr-olds?
Me: Nothing.  I just, I don’t know.
Ex: I’m dating a 37-yr-old.
Me: Huh?
Ex: Yeah, that chick I’ve gone on two dates with.
Me: Are you guys dating dating? Like official?
Ex: Yeah.
Me: Why am I here then?
Ex: What do you mean?
Me: (Men are so thick.)  Why am I here when you have a girlfriend?
Ex: You’re my friend. We’re hanging out.
Me: But. I don’t want her to not trust you. I don’t want to be a problem.
Ex: I told her you’re my best friend and that we’ll be hanging out.
Me: But would she really be okay with me staying the night? I mean, I know we’re not ‘doing’ anything, but still.
Ex: I told her we’d be hanging out and she has to be okay with that.

Okay, I get what he’s saying.  I do.  But I feel a bit ambushed.  Like, what?  You have a girlfriend? You have a girlfriend. And I’m hanging out with you.  Watching basketball, walking the dog, talking shit about your boss…

She is out of town at a wedding…

I’m here.

I feel awkward now.

Why am I here?

(Sigh.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

